Thursday, January 21, 2021

Webinar: Raising Safe Drivers – Parental Behaviors and Beliefs About Their Children Learning to Drive

 



Raising Safe Drivers – Parental Behaviors and Beliefs About Their Children Learning to Drive

January 28th at 11 am PT, noon MT, 1 pm CT, 2 pm ET

Speakers: Annmarie McMahill and Jay Otto

Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death for teenagers in the U.S., according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Crash risk is particularly high immediately after one gets a driver’s license. Bolstering the engagement of parents and those in a parenting role to better prepare young people to drive may be an effective strategy to improve traffic safety for young drivers.

This webinar reviews the findings of a survey developed by the Center for Health and Safety Culture on behalf of the Washington Traffic Safety Commission about the beliefs and behaviors of 800 parents in Washington State relating to actions they take to teach their children safe driving practices.

The results focus on five key behaviors parents can take with children ages 5 and older: getting their child to think about various traffic safety issues, teaching their child about safe practices, allowing their child to practice their thinking, supporting their child as they learn, and recognizing their child’s effort.

Overall, parents were concerned about their child learning to drive safely, and many (79%) were interested in having access to resources that would help them engage in conversations about safe driving practices with their children.

Join us for this webinar to review more details of the findings. Register here.